Young Money ft. Lloyd–BedRock

young-money-bedrock

Released November 14, 2009 (US), March 22, 2010 (UK)
Billboard: Peaked at #2.
UK Charts: Peaked at #9.

Well, this one’s a collaboration from Young Money Entertainment, which I believe was initiated by Lil Wayne and is basically a label for hip-hop artists, mostly rappers. Other than Lil Wayne, I do know that Drake and Nicki Minaj are signed to this, as well as Tyga (one of the guys featured on Chris Brown’s Deuces). All four of them are featured in this song, along with Lloyd, and two other rappers on the label – Jae Millz and, um, Gudda Gudda. I do enjoy quite a bit of Drake’s work, Lil Wayne is okay, and Nicki Minaj’s work is all over the place; so it’ll be interesting to see how this massive collaboration turns out.

As I suspected, it’s basically a collection of rap verses by each artist, with Lloyd handling the chorus. The beat is… there, I guess, and it’s reasonably catchy, so no marks penalised there. Lloyd’s hook as well as the background instrumentals are pretty decent in terms of melody, and though his voice does seem a little shaky at times, it’s nothing too bad. However, the problem with this hook is the lyrics –

Oh Baby, I be stuck to you, like glue, baby
Wanna spend it all on you, baby
My room is the G-spot,
Call me Mr. Flintstone, I can make your bed rock
I-I-I-I can make your bed rock (x4)

I still wonder how he can sing this without exploding into laughter. The glue metaphor in the first line or the idea of using money to buy love in the second line are a little bit over-the-top, but nothing too ridiculous. Third line… G as in gangsta, but also G-spot refers to a theorised erogeneous zone in the vaginal area, which sounds a bit… disturbing, to say the least. The last two lines are the clincher here though – seriously? Call me Mr. FlintstoneI can make your bed rock… How do you NOT laugh while singing these lines?!? The corniness is pretty extreme. The I-I-I-I reminds me of a certain other song that used this little vocal pattern as well, too…

Anyway, enough about Lloyd, he’s basically pretty generic on this, not especially bad, but not especially good either. The six rappers on the song:

#1 LIL WAYNE
She got that good good, she Michael Jackson bad,
I’m attracted to her, for her attractive ass.
Right… That’s, well, … explicit? Argh!

And now we murderers, because we kill time;
I knock her lights out, and she still shine.
This is cliched, but not as bad as above…

I hate to see her go, but I love to watch her leave,
But I keep her running back and forth – Soccer Team
Um, okay. This reminds me of Katy Perry’s Hot n Cold… a case of love bipolar….

Cold as a winter’s day, hot as a summer’s eve
I figured.

Young Money thieves, steal your love and leave
Ah well, this opener is pretty much of a sleeper, really. He’s not too bad, other than the second line. Still, I was expecting more… I was left with very little impression, whether for good or for bad (other than THAT second line). 4/10

#2 GUDDA GUDDA
I like the way you walk and if you walking my way
I’m that Red Bull, now let’s fly away
Okay, Red Bull gives you wings, and all that. Pass.

Let’s buy a place with all kind of space
I let you be the judge and-and-and I’m the case
Not really making much sense here to me…

I’m Gudda Gudda, I put her under
I see me with her, no Stevie Wonder
Okay, so I did some research and “no Stevie Wonder” has similar meaning to “no wonder”. I guess it sort of makes sense once you remove it. That said, care to explain the choice of Gudda Gudda?

She don’t even wonder ’cause she know she bad
And I got her n—–,
Hmm…

GROCERY BAG
Research shows this to mean “it’s in the bag”, which makes sense considering the context of this lyric. Nevertheless, said “research” is a little page on Urban Dictionary, and it came out on Jun 9, 2010, after two posts above (and before) it that puts forth definitions that basically imply “this line is nonsense”, unfortunately. Thus it’s possible that the definition came about because someone figured out that Grocery Bag implied “it’s in the bag”. Speaking of this, I’d best have a look at when the definition on Urban Dictionary came out for “no Stevie Wonder”… Dec 15, 2009, and it’s tagged with “lil wayne”, “bedrock” and “young money”. Hmm, there’s little data outside that to corroborate, so it’s probably another nonsense phrase or name-dropping usage. 1.5/10

#3 NICKI MINAJ
Okay, I get it, let me think, I guess it’s my turn
Maybe it’s time to put this p—- on your sideburns
Rrrrrright. Okay… This is ten times worse than Lil Wayne’s “attractive ass” line…

He say I’m bad, he probably right
He pressing me like button downs on a Friday night
Nothing special here, a bit of a sleeper.

I’m so pretty like, me on my pedal bike
Be on my low starch, be on my egg-a whites
How to lose weight! Ah well, points for referencing the Atkins Diet, I guess. I wonder why the change of inflection for “low starch”, though. Is there something that special about it?

He say, “Nikki, don’t stop, you the bestest”
And I just be coming off the top, asbestos
Asbestos? Isn’t that some volcanic material? This definitely needs research.

From wikipedia, “Asbestos (from Greek ἄσβεστος meaning “unquenchable” or “inextinguishable”) is a set of six naturally occurring silicate minerals exploited commercially for their desirable physical properties.”

Apparently, it used to be used a lot in construction, with applications such as gaskets, stage curtains, and (probably what we’re concerned with here), ceilings. However modern regulations have placed limits on the use of asbestos for health reasons. So… I still don’t get it. What’s coming off the top? Surely you don’t want yourself removed, for public health (noise) reasons, so…?

A little bit of research suggests a double entendre – improvisation (coming off the top of one’s head), and well, orgasm (off… a different kind of top, to say the least). Hmm… Not enjoyable, at all. 3/10

#4 DRAKE
Ah this should be interesting, some of his songs are pretty decent to good, and his spot on What’s My Name with Rihanna was decent.

I love your sushi roll, hotter than wasabi
I race for your love, “Shake ‘n’ Bake” Ricky Bobby
Okay. This is fine, but nothing special…

I’m at the W but I can’t meet you in the lobby
Girl, I gotta watch my back ’cause I’m not just anybody
I like those slightly faster bits here – his diction’s pretty enjoyable, honestly.

I seen ’em stand in line just to get beside her
I let her see the Aston and let the rest surprise her
That’s when we disappear, you need GPS to find her
Oh, that was your girl? I thought I recognized her
Ironically, the last song I reviewed was Run It!, and I mentioned these lyrics in it too. Ah well, though he’s being a bad guy, this verse is still done pretty well and is definitely a breath of fresh air after one disappointing and two pretty bad verses. 6/10

#5 TYGA
She like tanning, I like staying in
She like romancing, I like rolling with friends
She said I’m caged in, I think her conscience is
She watching that Oxygen, I’m watching ESPN
List of seeming antonyms (that aren’t necessarily antonyms), zzz. It’s decent; I sort of like his rap voice, but it’s still very much a sleeper.

But when that show end, she all on my skin
Lotion, slow motion, roller coasting like back forth, hold it (hold it – hold it – …)
She pose like it’s for posters and I poke like I’m supposed to
Take this photo if you for me, she said, “Don’t you ever show this”
There’s really not much I have to say about Tyga’s section. It’s neither really good nor really bad, but actually that still makes it one of the better ones in this song. Depiction of basically, sex.

I’m too loyal and too focused
To be losing and be hopeless, when I spoke this, she rejoiced it
Said your words get me open, so I closed it
This doesn’t sound too good… I mean, do you seriously expect someone like, well, anyone on the Young Money crew to settle down so easily? Heh…

Where your clothes is? I’m only loving for the moment
Ah yup. Predictable, and explainable. 4.5/10

#6 JAE MILLZ
Uh, she ain’t got a man but she’s not alone
Miss Independent, yeah, she got her own
Ne-Yo references there? Ah well, I like Ne-Yo, so you can have a few points from me.

Hey gorgeous, I mean flawless, well, that’s what you are
How I see it is how I call it, yeah
Look it how she walk, she know she bad
Do, do your thing, baby, I ain’t even mad
Okay, this one is not taken in context. He’s… not bad, which is actually pretty good for this song. At least, his lyrics flow pretty okay, and though simple, make sense and are tinged with a bit of sweetness.

And I ain’t even fast, I’ma stay a while
Hold yo’ head Chris, I’ma take her down
A Chris Brown reference, probably… but it’s left undeveloped. Are you gunning for Rihanna? Which shouldn’t make sense – I don’t see a reason why you’d want to do that. More likely, it’s a reference to Take You Down, which has little to do with violence and is more about, to put it bluntly, getting a girl on the bed. Honestly, I’ve never heard of Jae Millz prior to this song, but he actually seems somewhat better than most of the others who had their shots on this. He’s decent. 6.5/10

I’ve just realised how much I’ve been able to write over such a simple song, and it’s not one that I like very much! Hmm… well, when I do get round to writing the review for B.o.B’s Airplanes (ft. Hayley Williams), we’ll see.

That said, the video is pretty awesome for this one. “Young Money World” is hilarious, to say the least.

OVERALL RATING = 4.5 / 10
BedRock fires along for 4:55 or so, and is loaded with mixed moments – for me, at least, the quality seems to improve somewhat towards the end of the song. It’s really a mixed bag, with decent and terrible elements. Nevertheless, the background melody is pretty catchy and thus I’d give it a pretty average-ish score.

Leave a comment